UE Names Educators of the Year in Vanderburgh Co.

Published 04/02 2014 06:20PM

Updated 04/02 2014 06:23PM

Three Evansville teachers and an administrator are named outstanding educators of 2014.

Every year, the University of Evansville picks an elementary, middle, and high school teacher along with an administrator for the awards.

We caught up with middle school winner Melissa Perkins at Glenwood Leadership Academy. She tells us her passion is more than just educating, it's the relationships she builds with her students.

"They're the reason why I am who I am," said Perksin. "I sincerely love each and every one of them like they're my own child. My family knows all of my kids by name. They've never met any of them, but they know who my kids are."

Elementary School Teacher of the Year is Ruth Baize of Stringtown. Joe Nelson of Signature School received the high school award. And Central's Darla Hoover won Building Principal of the Year.

Copyright 2017 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.