Election Results: Gibson County


Gibson County’s votes have been counted for races in Francisco, Oakland City, and Princeton.


Democrat Jonnie Watkins won the race for Francisco Clerk Treasurer over Republican Marie Hemmer.

Running unopposed, Republican Vance Lloyd, Sr. won the Francisco Town Council At-Large seat.

Also running unopposed, Democrat Harold Everett won the District 1 Town Council seat and Republican Clint Allbright won the District 2 seat.

Oakland City

In the three-way mayoral race, Democrat Hugh Wirth emerged the winner with 50% of the vote. Independent Jacob Goldsberry came in second with 37% of support over Republican Alfred Cooper, Sr.’s 13% support.

Independent Megan Coleman won the Oakland City Clerk Treasurer race by defeating Democrat Brenda Willis.

Separated by just 6 votes, Republican Kelly Besing edged out Democrat Mark Broshears for the city council at-large seat.

Democrats carried the district council races.

Otis Tooley won with 62% in District 1, Anne Myers ran unopposed in District 2, Patric Vinnedge won with 65% in District 3, and Rick Richardson won with 62% in District 4.


Republican Brad Schmitt garnered 61% of the vote in the Princeton mayoral race.

Democrats won three of the five city council seats up for grabs.

Republican Greg Wright won the at-large race and Republican Larry Matthews won the District 2 race.

District 1 was carried by Democrat Jan Ballard, District 3 was won by Democrat Jim Maglis, and Democrat Dean Enyeart took the District 4 race.

In the clerk treasurer race, Republican Mindy Brines ran unopposed.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.