Evansville Police swear in new officers during ceremony tonight

swearing in_1517220291398.JPG.jpg

During a ceremony on Monday, the Evansville Police Department is swearing in new officers, as well as recognizing promotions and merit awards.

The event takes place at 1 p.m. at the Victory Theatre.

Those to be recognized are as follows.

The swearing in ceremony of five new police officers includes:

  • Shawn Rhymer
  • Tyler Wilson
  • Matthew Henrich
  • Michael Hayden
  • Chase Hilsmeyer

There are three promotions within the Department:

  • Vernon Lutz is being promoted to Lieutenant
  • Rob Hahn is being promoted to Lieutenant
  • Sarah Brown is being promoted to Sergeant

EPD will also recognize merit awards bestowed by the Police Merit Commission, including a Serious Injury Award to Officer Allan Gansman, who was struck by a vehicle in the line of duty.

For the latest breaking news and stories from across the Tri-State, follow Eyewitness News on Facebook and Twitter.

(This story was originally published on Jan. 29, 2018) 

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories