Jasper Mayoral Race Ends in Apparent Tie

YLEH Jasper

Election Day brought along a first in the Jasper mayor’s race with an apparent tie.

The Dubois County Clerk says if the Election Board certifies these results and there is no petition for a recount, then the Jasper City Council will decide who will be mayor on December 31.

Here’s a summary of the Dubois County results:


The Jasper race for mayor ended in a tie. Democratic candidate Wayne Schuetter and Republican Terry Seitz tied with 1,856 votes each. Independent Joshua Budd had 190 votes.

Republicans Nancy Eckerle and Dean Vonderheide had the most votes in the Jasper City Council At-Large race with 33% and 26% respectively.

Democrat Greg Schnarr won the District 2 seat running unopposed, Democrat David Hurst won the District 4 seat over Republican Brittany Brockman, Democrat Earl Schmitt won the District 5 race unopposed, and Republican Kevin Manley won the District 6 race unopposed.

Democrat Juanita Boehm ran unopposed for Jasper Clerk Treasurer.


Ferdinand’s only contested race saw Democrat Ken Sicard win the District 1 Town Council race with 75% of the vote.

Democrats won the rest of the races in the town unopposed.


Republican Denny Spinner defeated Democrat Ron Drew in the race for Huntingburg Mayor.

Independent Tim Wehr defeated Republican Victoria Lewis for the Huntingburg City Council At-Large seat.

Republican Stephen McPherron won 60% of the vote to take the District 3 race.

Running unopposed for city council were Republican Glen Kissling in District 1, Republican Jeffrey Bounds in District 2, and Independent Kerry Blessinger in District 4.

Democrat Thomas Dippel ran unopposed for clerk treasurer.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories