FRANKFORT, Ky. (WEHT) — Storm victims in 16 Kentucky counties now have until Jan. 28 to apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance, the Kentucky Office of Unemployment Insurance announced Friday.

Officials say the U.S. Department of Labor gave approval to extend the deadline for individuals impacted by the storms that occurred overnight on Dec. 10 to apply for DUA benefits.

Individuals in the following 16 Kentucky counties who wish to apply for DUA benefits must submit an application to OUI no later than Jan. 28: Barren, Caldwell, Christian, Fulton, Graves, Hart, Hickman, Hopkins, Logan, Lyon, Marion, Marshall, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Taylor, and Warren.

You are eligible to apply for unemployment assistance if you lost your job as a direct result of the severe storms, straight-line winds, flooding and tornadoes. Those who are self-employed and had work interrupted in any of the eligible counties as a result of the tornadoes, including farmers, are also eligible to apply for unemployment assistance.

To receive unemployment benefits, you must provide a copy of your most recent federal income tax forms or recent check stubs, a bill showing your physical address at the time of the disaster and photo identification. All required documentation must be submitted within 21 days of applying for unemployment benefits.

To apply online, click here.