Daviess County Teacher Inducted into Teacher Hall of Fame

mr joe westerfield web_1480527675616.jpg

A former teacher from Daviess County was inducted into the Governor Louie B. Nunn Kentucky Teacher Hall of Fame on Wednesday during a ceremony at the Capitol Rotunda in Frankfort.

Joe Westerfield, who taught social studies for 33 years in Daviess County schools, said he was thrilled and humbled by the Hall of Fame recognition.

Opal T. Sibert and Ron Skillern were also inducted into the hall of fame. The members are chosen by a statewide selection committee. Sibert spent most of her career as a homebound teacher, special needs teacher, and a speech therapist in Laurel County. Skillern is a social studies teacher at Bowling Green High School.

Westerfield retired in 2002. He said, “Just to be considered is an honor. To be selected as one of the winners is mind boggling.”

The 2017 class was inducted by Dr. Steph Pruitt, the Kentucky Commissioner of Education, and Western Kentucky University President Gary A. Ransdell.

The Kentucky Teacher Hall of Fame was created in 2000 through a gift by late Gov. Nunn. The late governor hoped to recognize the vital role that primary and secondary teachers in Kentucky play.

Nominations for the 2018 class are now being accepted. The deadline is July 15. Click here for more information.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories