DCPS announces three National Merit Scholarship semifinalists


DAVIESS COUNTY, Ky. (WEHT) – Three Daviess County Public Schools students have been named semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program.

They are in a group of 16,000 academically talented seniors that will compete for about 7,500 National Merit Scholarships, which will be awarded next spring.

Connor Satterly is the son of Nathan and Beth Satterly of Owensboro. Connor is active in the Wendell H. Ford Statesmanship Academy, the Apollo Swim Team, and Apollo Academic Team. Connor is participating in the DCPS Early College Academy. He will graduate this year with an associates degree as well as an Apollo High School diploma.

Connor Satterly / Courtesy: DCPS

Daniel Mays is the son of Shirley Mays. Daniel is involved in Beta Club, Apollo Academic Team and Student Council at Apollo High School. Daniel will graduate this year with a DCPS Honors Diploma.

Daniel Mays / Courtesy: DCPS

Daviess County High School senior Noah Owen is the son of Kevin and Jenni Owen of Owensboro. He is an active member of the DCHS Academic Team, Student Council, Y-Club, Key Club and Beta Club. Noah serves as historian of the DCHS chapter of the National Honor Society and is the senior class reporter. He plans to major in mathematics education in college with a goal of pursuing a career as a math teacher.

Noah Owen / Courtesy: DCPS

For the latest breaking news and stories from across the Tri-State, follow Eyewitness News on Facebook and Twitter.

(This story was originally published on September 12, 2019)

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories