Deputies, officers receive awards during ceremony at Old Courthouse


EVANSVILLE, Ind. (WEHT) – The Vanderburgh County Sheriff’s Office says “welcome” to two deputies and “thank you” to others.

The two new deputies were sworn in during a ceremony at the Old Courthouse.

During the same ceremony Deputy Matt Weiss and Officer Alexandra Pearson received a Sheriff’s Commendation Award while deputies Cody Brandenstein, Brandon Rolley, Nathan Baehl, and Mike Robinson received the “life saver award” for their actions in what the sheriff describes as some tense situations.

“We honored some people who applied multiple tourniquets on a person or persons who had severe bleeding some from self-inflicted wounds, some for being stabbed by somebody else, but they jumped right in there to help save a life “

The sheriff also recognized Ofc. Robert Hollis for 30 years of service to the sheriff’s office.

For the latest breaking news and stories from across the
Tri-State, follow Eyewitness News on Facebook and Twitter.

(This story was originally published on September 5, 2019)

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories