Fines in Illinois to increase for those caught passing school buses

Local News
school bus mgn_1532627818269.jpg.jpg

(WEHT) – People who pass a school bus in Illinois when it’s picking up or dropping off children will now face bigger fines.

Governor J.B. Pritzker signed a bill that doubles the fines for those who violate the ‘No Passing Law.’

First offense fines are now $300.

Second offense fines are $1,000.

Passing a school bus loading or unloading children can lead to a driver’s license suspension.

For the latest breaking news and stories from across the tri-state, follow Eyewitness News on Facebook and Twitter.

(This story was originally published on July 17, 2019)

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.