Illinois law makes it illegal to smoke in vehicle with child inside

Local News

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. (WEHT) – It’s now illegal in Illinois to smoke in your car with a child inside after Governor J.B. Pritzker signed a bill on Monday.

If law enforcement catches you smoking with a kid in your vehicle, you’ll be subject to fines up to $100 for the first offense and up to $250 for each offense after that.

The law took effect upon signing.

For the latest breaking news and stories from across thetri-state, follow Eyewitness News on Facebook and Twitter.

(This story was originally published on August 27, 2019)

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.