Students in Daviess County named National Merit Scholars


DAVIESS COUNTY, Ky. (WEHT) – Six Daviess County Public School district students have been awarded National Merit Scholarships.

These students were among 16,000 high school seniors across the country who earned designation as National Merit Semifinalists last September by earning the highest scores in each state on the Preliminary SAT National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

In February, they advanced as finalists for consideration for 7,500 National Merit Scholarships and were recently notified of their awards.

Four Daviess County High School seniors have been named National Merit Scholars. They are Kaylee Meador, Alec Phelps, Nace Mattingly, and Gabija Ziemyte.

Two Apollo High School seniors rank among this prestigious group as 2019 Ntional Merit Scholars. They are Trevor Scott Payne and Brooklyn Michelle Knight.

These scholarship recipients join about 338,000 other distinguished young people who have earned the Merit Scholar title.

For the latest breaking news and stories from across the Tri-State, follow Eyewitness News on Facebook and Twitter.

(This story was originally published on May 10, 2019)

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories