Warrick County educator named Indiana Principal of the Year


WARRICK COUNTY, Ind. (WEHT) – A Warrick County educator receives a big honor over the weekend.

Ashley Bruggenschmidt – Principal at Sharon Elementary School in Newburgh – was named Indiana Elementary School Principal of the Year.

Last month, a softball field in Boonville was named after her daughter, Kate.

The Indiana Association of School Principals selected Bruggenschmidt for the honor out of 12 principals throughout the state at its annual conference in Indianapolis.

Bruggenshmidt was awarded the honor based on her work at Sharon Elementary and her involvement in the community.

In 2015, her daughter Kate was killed when the ATV she was riding overturned.

Through the “Play for Kate” Foundation, Bruggenschmidt pushed for legislation requiring kids under 18 to wear a helmet on ATV’s. It was signed into law in 2017.

For the latest breaking news and stories from across the
Tri-State, follow Eyewitness News on Facebook and Twitter.

(This story was originally published on November 25, 2019)

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories