Warrick County educator named Indiana Principal of the Year


Ashlee Bruggenschmidt

EVANSVILLE, Ind. (WEHT) – A Tri-State principal has been recognized across the state with an award.

Sharon Elementary Principal Ashlee Bruggenschmidt is the 2019 Indiana Elementary Principal of the Year. Bruggenschmidt was announced as the winner of the award at a ceremony in Indianapolis Sunday.

Bruggenschmidt was awarded the honor based on her work within Sharon Elementary and her involvement in the community.

The Play for Kate Bill became law in 2017, requiring anyone under 18 in the state of Indiana to wear a helmet while riding an ATV.

The law was passed in an effort led by Bruggenschmidt, whose daughter Kate died in an ATV accident in 2015.

Since that time, the Play for Kate foundation has donated three ‘Safety Sams’ and now one ‘Safety Sarah,’ robots that help teach ATV safety in a fun and innovative way.

For more information on the Play for Kate Foundation click here.

For the latest breaking news and stories from across the
Tri-State, follow Eyewitness News on Facebook and Twitter.

(This story was originally published on November 25, 2019)

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories