Philharmonic to announce finalists for Music Director position Monday

evansville philharmonic orchestra logo web_1550600973068.jpg.jpg

The Evansville Philharmonic Orchestra will announce five finalists for its Music Director position during a press conference on Monday, February 25 at 10 a.m.

The Music Director Search Committee will host the press conference.

One of the five finalists will succeed Maestro Alfred Savia, whose tenure began in 1989.

The new music director will start during the 2020-21 season.

“The search committee was thrilled by the number and quality of the applicants for the Philharmonic Music Director position,” said Search Committee Chair and EPO Principal Clarinetist, Thomas Josenhans. “The talent of the candidates represented in the applicant pool speaks to the quality of the EPO as a leading orchestra and arts organization, and to the vibrancy of the cultural climate of Evansville and our region.”

The EPO Music Director Search Committee is comprised of 11 members, six from the
Philharmonic Board and five from the orchestra. 

Board representatives include Louis Cady; Rita Eykamp; Mark Powers, board president; Joyse Rivers; Diane Schroeder; and Kirsten Wagmeister, board vice president. Musicians include Emily Britton, principal horn; Ross Erickson, principal percussion; Jennifer Farny, cello; Thomas Josenhans, principal clarinet; and Greg Olson, principal double bass. Acting Executive Director Kimberly Bredemeier is also involved as a non-voting member of the committee.

For the latest breaking news and stories from across the Tri-State, follow Eyewitness News on Facebook and Twitter.
(This story was originally published on February 19, 2019)

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.