HENDERSON, Ky (WEHT) – The NCAA Division II Men’s Basketball Elite Eight Championship will start in Evansville on Tuesday, and teams from all over the country are rolling in for their chance at a shining moment. Here are some interesting facts to know about each team competing this week.

Nova Southeastern

  • Team: Sharks
  • Record: 33-0 (Conf: 20-0)
  • Coach: Jim Crutchfield
  • Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida
  • Enrollment: Over 20,000

This is the second consecutive year the Sharks have entered the Division II Elite Eight undefeated. This is also the third time the Nova Southeastern Sharks Men’s Basketball team has been in the Elite Eight. Some notable alumni include Major League Baseball player J.D. Martinez and the former Vice President of Panama Isabel Saint Malo.

Missouri-St. Louis

  • Team: Tritons
  • Record: 24-10 (Conf: 11-9)
  • Coach: Bob Sundvold
  • Location: St. Louis, Missouri
  • Enrollment: Nearly 15,000

This is the Tritons’ third consecutive year in the Elite Eight, following a 32-year NCAA Division II tournament drought. Phyllis Smith, known for her role in the television series The Office, and NBA referee Natalie Sago are graduates from the University of Missouri-St. Louis.

California State, San Bernardino

  • Team: Coyotes
  • Record: 30-3 (Conf: 20-2)
  • Coach: Andy Newman
  • Location: San Bernandino, California
  • Enrollment: Over 19,000

California State University, San Bernardino (CSUSB) is a frequent participant in the NCAA Division II tournament, appearing 13 times since 1999. CSUSB has produced a few notable pro basketball players, including former NBA players James Cotten and Ivan Johnson.

Lincoln Memorial

  • Team: Railsplitters
  • Record: 30-4 (Conf: 16-2)
  • Coach: Jeremiah Samarrippas
  • Location: Harrogate, Tennessee
  • Enrollment: Nearly 4,000

Lincoln Memorial has appeared in the Elite Eight Tournament 10 times. Lincoln Memorial has produced several notable athletes, including NBA player Emanuel Terry, MLB pitcher Scot Shields, MLS player Nelson Pizarro, and professional golfer Dan Bradbury.

West Liberty

  • Team: Hilltoppers
  • Record: 31-3 (Conf: 20-2)
  • Coach: Ben Howlett
  • Location: West Liberty, West Virginia
  • Enrollment: Nearly 3,000

West Liberty has been in the tournament every year since 2010, having several deep tournament runs. Country music star Brad Paisley is a West Liberty graduate.

New Haven

  • Team: Chargers
  • Record: 23-10 (Conf: 13-7)
  • Coach: Ted Hotaling
  • Location: West Haven, Connecticut
  • Enrollment: Nearly 7,000

The New Haven Chargers are one of the oldest basketball programs playing in the tournament. New Haven has been a semi-constant presence around this time in the Division II season. Former NFL head coach Tony Sparano served as New Haven’s head coach for four seasons prior to beginning his career with the NFL.

Black Hills State

  • Team: Yellow Jackets
  • Record: 28-5 (Conf: 18-4)
  • Coach: Ryan Thompson
  • Location: Spearfish, South Dakota
  • Enrollment: Over 3,500

Black Hills State University is the youngest team in this tournament, as they gained Division II status in 2013. American professional strongman Brian Shaw, who is widely known as one of the greatest strength athletes in the world, graduated from Black Hills State in 2004. Shaw played basketball on the Yellow Jackets men’s basketball team and found his passion for weight training during his time at BHSU.

Minnesota Duluth

  • Team: Bulldogs
  • Record: 26-9 (Conf: 16-6)
  • Coach: Justin Wieck
  • Location: Duluth, Minnesota
  • Enrollment: Over 9,600

The University of Minnesota Duluth is an NCAA Division II competitor in all sports, except hockey. Known as a hockey powerhouse, both Bulldog’s men’s and women’s hockey teams both compete at the Division I level, bringing home multiple national championship titles.