Winnecke wins re-election; Democrats control city council

Your Local Election HQ


EVANSVILLE, Ind. (WEHT) – Now to continuing coverage from Your Local Election Headquarters.

Evansville Republicans are celebrating tonight as Mayor Lloyd Winnecke is elected to a third term.

Eyewitness news’ Grace Hayba has been with Republicans, and she joins us now with a recap.

Mayor Winnecke took to the stage for his historic win for a third term for mayor in Evansville.

When he was on stage, he took time to thanks those who have helped him along the way. He thanked Tim O’Brien, who lost to Ben Trockman for the first ward seat by less than 200 votes.

Winnecke says the city needs him to run again in the future. He also thanked Natalie Rascher for her support along the way.

Rascher lost by 31 votes to incumbent Democrat Missy Mosby for the second ward seat.

Winnecke also congratulated Ron Beane who was voted the most for the At-Large seat for City Council, pulling in 7,335 votes.

Now that the votes are final, the Democrats have a 7-2 majority on the City Council.

Winnecke says he has learned so much throughout the years and says he’s excited for what he can get done in this third term.

Original Story

EVANSVILLE, Ind. (WEHT) – Evansville Mayor Lloyd Winnecke wins his re-election.

This will be the mayor’s third term.

Mayor Winnecke won with 11,711 votes.

Ron Beane (R), Jonathan Weaver (D) and Kaitlin Moore Morley (D) have won At-Large seats in the city council.

Democrat Ben Trockman won against Republican Timothy O’Brien for City Council, Ward 1.

Democrat incumbent Missy Mosby wins against Republican Natalie Rascher by just 31 votes for City Council, Ward 2.

Democrat Zac Heronemus won against Republican Stephen Melcher, who took over Ward 3 when John Hayden

Democrat Alex Burton will take over City Council, Ward 4 after beating opponent Archie Carter. Burton replaces Connie Robinson, who resigned from the Democratic Party and finished her term as an independent.

Republican incumbent Justin Elpers won against Democrat Jennifer Yaser for City Council, Ward 5.

Democrat incumbent Jim Brinkmeyer won against Republican Paul Abramson for City Council, Ward 6.

For the latest breaking news and stories from across the Tri-State, follow Eyewitness News on Facebook and Twitter.

(This story was originally published on November 5, 2019)

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories