Long named Frontier League MVP, Otters named ‘Organization of the Year’

Evansville Otters Baseball Logo

EVANSVILLE, Ind. (WEHT) – Evansville was voted the Frontier League’s Organization of the Year, the league announced on Thursday.

General managers in the league voted for the award.

“It is both an honor and a pleasure to see that the Evansville Otters have won the 2019 Organization of the Year Award,” Frontier League Commissioner Bill Lee said. “They are the oldest team in the Frontier League, and it is fitting that they have earned this prestigious award in their 25th season. We send our congratulations to the Bussing Family, the entire organization and the fans.”

This is the first time the Otters have won the award since 1997.

“The award is a tribute to the hundreds of people who are committed, both directly and indirectly, to making Otters’ games compelling entertainment,” Otters owner Bill Bussing said. “It’s unfortunate that many of the people who are responsible for this award never get credit helping make a visit to Bosse Field a magical experience.”

Third baseman Ryan Long was also named the league’s Most Valuable Player and postseason all-star at third base, while relief pitcher Taylor Wright was named the league’s Rookie of the Year.

Tyler Beardsley received the league’s Citizenship Award and pitching coach Max Peterson was named the Coach of the Year.

The Otters are the longest-tenured, active franchise in the Frontier League, going back to 1995.

For the latest breaking news and stories from across the Tri-State, follow Eyewitness News on Facebook and Twitter.

(This story was originally published on August 29, 2019)

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

NBA Stats

Trending Stories